Straight families versus LGBT families

Dear National Organization for Marriage,

I love you. Every time I think I have no real purpose in the blogosphere, you remind me that I have a purpose in the digital world – and that purpose is laughing at you.

Seriously. Following you on Facebook was one of the best things I’ve ever done. Whenever I need a good laugh, I make sure to read your status updates. You don’t even make me angry because you’re arguments in defense of heterosexual marriage make so little sense to me. I mean, of course, I used to be one of you. I understand. You think that gay people are images from gay pride parades. That we’re a bunch of shirtless men having orgies on floats in broad daylight – GOOD GOD, JUNE! GO RUN AND HIDE THE KIDS THE HOMOS ARE COMING.

I used to think that, too. Imagine how much fun that was for me as a teenager when my hormones started raging and I realized that I was one of them.

It was so much fun I wanted to kill myself. That’s some pretty crazy intense fun.

Watch out, parents. The gays are coming for your kids through their cereal boxes now.
Thanks to Destructoid.com for the image – a great article by them is linked through the photo.

So getting to the point, I just had to say how much I enjoyed your gem of a blogpost today decrying “one the dumbest corporate PR stunts of ALL TIME.”

Yup, that’s right, folks. General Mills today declared war on marriage. They’ve joined those West Coast lefties Starbucks in pushing their pro-SSM worldview.

As best as I can tell from their blogpost, the general argument here is that A) you make cereal, B) you market cereal to families with children and C) we must make sure to tell our kids that gays and queers are freaks and not worthy of loving, life-long relationships.

I get all of that. What I don’t get is the implied argument which follows: “According to the US Census Bureau, there are only 111,033 same-sex households in America with children under age 18 who are living in the household. By contrast, there are over 35 million households with children under age 18.”

Dear NOM, can you elucidate this for me? I don’t get what you’re trying to say here. I think it’s strange when homophobic people start citing the fact that LGBT are such a small minority as if that justifies oppression, as if that means that we don’t have rights. So what? We’re a small minority. And? So are redheads.

For what it’s worth, I would like to point out that there are more states where it’s legal to marry your cousin in the US of A than states where gay couples can adopt. So just sayin’.

More importantly, I’d like to point out that of those 35 million “traditional” American households, a pretty decent number most definitely have an LGBT member. So please don’t try to divide our families up in “Gay” and “Traditional”.

The vast majority of LGBT people are born to heterosexual people. We’re already a part of your families. We’re your daughters and sisters, we’re your sons and brothers.

So, what is it that you’re trying to point out with these numbers you included? There has to be some reason you made a point of mentioning this apparent disparity.

Help me out, NOM.

Leave a comment

Filed under Religious Wrong

Leave a Reply

