God doesn’t love you that much, Simba

Four or five years can do a lot to remove you from where you were. I forget, sometimes, that this is not such a long time. It wasn’t so long ago that I bought into the idea that being gay and being Christian meant being celibate – if you want to please God. And I did.

I still want to please God.

Having individuals run around promulgating this BS isn’t helping. It’s like white people telling black people that they’re OK with them – as long as they straighten their hair (pun not intentional) and use products to lighten their skin.

The fact that some members of our community have bought into this BS breaks my heart – and so we need to call it for what it is. Too many people are being left irrevocably, deeply damaged by these sorts of lies.

Qualifying God’s love means besmirching God’s goodness and grace. I’m excited by a new group I’ve just seen in the last few days on Facebook called On God’s Campus: Voices from the Queer Underground. They posted this little gem the other day. Everyone, I highly recommend checking them out. They have a lot of thought-provoking stuff that I’m looking forward to digging into once my schedule slows down at the end of the semester.

Leave a comment

Filed under Religious Wrong

Leave a Reply

