Write On

I haven’t been writing as much lately and I apologize for that, I guess, if you have been following me through the years and you’ve found some sort of enjoyment in reading my blog.

I’ve been tending to shy away from blogging lately, because I find that it takes away from the very serious business of pretending I’m a writer.

No, not funny?

Ah, well.

Not only have I been moonlighting as a writer, I’ve been busy in other areas of my life. I’m gone from 8 – 6 most days now, since I work up in Flint and my commute takes anywhere from 45 minutes to 1 hr 40 minutes depending on whether or not Genesee County has decided to salt the roads on that particular day.

On the side, I’ve been coordinating the online presence for Soup Grant Lansing since October. (As a volunteer, by the way. I realize “on the side” makes it sound like it could be a job or something!) If you give me the chance to, I’ll talk your ear off about it. (It’s the 3rd Thursday of the month, by the way. Hint, hint, Lansing.)

And on top of all that, I’ve got my partner to think of whose halfway through vet school and our baby girl (an energetic, 7-month-old black lab/mutt).

To make it short, this has not been a season of peace and quiet.

I’ve thought about discontinuing the blog many times recently; two months between posts is a very long time. Moreover, I’ve often told myself it would be good to just be rid of it and get on with focusing on other things.

After some consideration, however, I’ve decided against discontinuing the blog. I’ve never had any hope of making Queerrant a highly successful blog with lots of hits and a high level of traffic. On the other hand, I consider it very successful in smaller ways. More than anything over the years, I’ve valued the exchanges I’ve had with people via the comments or the responses to my posts that people send me by e-mail every once in a while. I’m always pleased to know that something I have to say resonates with someone else.

Something I found while I was canvassing suburban Philly for the Obama campaign was that, when I had conversations with folks about the election, I felt much better than when all I could do was sit back and listen to a “news” report which was intended to induce a knee-jerk, emotional reaction rather than concentrating on hard-hitting reporting or sensitive analysis.

Perhaps I was just one small voice and one set of ears, but I was relieved to know that there were many people with whom I could sustain an intelligent conversation that didn’t have to venture into the domain of raising our voices against one another even where we disagreed.

That is fundamentally what I want this blog to continue to be: A place where voices don’t need to be raised. We won’t always agree, but perhaps I’ll learn something, and perhaps you’ll learn something.

Perhaps my voice is small, and yours as well. I have nothing inspiring to say. I don’t believe in changing the world with one small voice. I only believe that it is best to remain who you are in spite of everything else, in the face of the world when there are a million angry voices drowning out a million others, just as angry.

Thank you to everyone who has been reading throughout the years. Thank you for your comments, your thoughts, your honesty. Thank you most of all for your friendship.

I’ll look forward to hearing more from you, too, over the coming years.

jrm

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

